Diaper Pouch Tutorial

Standard

So, when I pregnant, I searched high and low for the perfect diaper bag.  And I found one!!  And it was perfect.  And it was mine.  But….  then I realized how awful it was to carry my purse and my diaper bag and a baby.  When Jensen got older, I didn’t need to bring as much stuff and so all I wanted was to bring diapers, wipes, and maybe a snack?  And that all fits in my purse.  But the diapers get all messed up and get cheerios and crumbs in them.  I was getting frustrated until I saw my friend had this cool velcro bag thing for the diapers and wipes.  It was amazing and answered al my worries.  I never found something so meant to be before.  I borrowed it and tried to make one just like it.  After a few trials, this is the best one I was able to make.  And I LOVE it!!  And I make it for everyone having a baby because it’s just amazing.

IMG_4135IMG_4131

So, I thought, hey I can make the world a better place by showing everyone how to make one!

So, first, you need to coordinating fabrics.  If you want to make just one holder, you need 1/4 yard of each.  But I found I can make perfectly two of them with 1/4 of the orange fabric and 1/2 of the giraffe fabric.  (ooooo! I just love giraffes!!!)

IMG_4098

Then, you start cutting the fabric by cutting both into strips of 7.5 inches wide.

IMG_4101

Then, cut the orange into three pieces.  One that is 15.5 inches long and two that 10.5 inches long.

IMG_4103

Then, cut the giraffe into one piece that is 15.5 inches long.

So basically, here is a diagram of the pieces you need.

Screen Shot 2013-08-04 at 9.33.18 PM

Okay, so now that you have your fabric cut, you need to attach the velcro very first.  I got velcro that was 2 inches thick and about 2 inches long.  So basically it’s a 2×2 in. piece of velcro.

This kind is sticky, but I like to sew it on anyway so that it is more secure.

IMG_4137

Now, attach one side to a long piece of the orange and the other side to a short piece of the orange.

About 1 inch from the top and centered.

IMG_4115

Now, take the short piece with velcro and sew it to the short piece without velcro.

(I like to sew it again on the outside for a pretty looking seem.)

IMG_4118

Now is time for piece the whole thing together.  Start by laying down the long orange piece with velcro, right side up.

Followed by the short orange pieces, velcro up.

IMG_4117

Now, lay the giraffe piece on top, wrong side up.

IMG_4122

Now sew around the edges,

curving around the corners,

IMG_4121

and leaving about 2 inches open.

IMG_4122IMG_4119

Okay, trim the corners, like so.

IMG_4124

And turn it inside out and ironing it down all pretty and nice.

IMG_4126

So sew the hole closed, I like to sew around the top part for pretty looking seem.  It just pulls it all together.

IMG_4128

Then, you’re all done!!  That’s it!!

Now, you can throw diapers into your purse in a cute pouch that looks cute and is nice and portable.

IMG_4136IMG_4135

One response »

Leave a Reply

